• Follow Us On Our Preferred Social Media Platform:

SMW 2022: Singapore to establish green shipping corridors for zero-emission maritime routes

05 Apr 2022

Singapore, the world’s largest bunkering port, will be joining the Clydebank Declaration for Green Shipping Corridors, an initiative to support the establishment of green shipping corridors – zero-emission maritime routes between two (or more) ports.

Minister for Transport and Minister-in-Charge of Trade Relations, Singapore, Mr S Iswaran shared the development on Monday (4 April) during the opening of the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) organised Singapore Maritime Week (SMW) 2022.

The collective aim of parties in the declaration is to support the establishment of at least six green corridors by the middle of this decade, while aiming to scale activity up in the following years, by inter alia supporting the establishment of more routes, longer routes and/or having more ships on the same routes.

Signatories of the declaration pledge to:

  • facilitate the establishment of partnerships, with participation from ports, operators and others along the value chain, to accelerate the decarbonisation of the shipping sector and its fuel supply through green shipping corridor projects
  • identify and explore actions to address barriers to the formation of green corridors. This could cover, for example, regulatory frameworks, incentives, information sharing or infrastructure
  • consider the inclusion of provisions for green corridors in the development or review of National Action Plans
  • work to ensure that wider consideration is taken for environmental impacts and sustainability when pursuing green shipping corridors.

Current signatories of the declaration are:

  1. Australia
  2. Belgium
  3. Canada
  4. Chile
  5. Costa Rica
  6. Denmark
  7. Fiji
  8. Finland
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Ireland
  12. Italy
  13. Japan
  14. Republic of the Marshall Islands
  15. Morocco
  16. Netherlands
  17. New Zealand
  18. Norway
  19. Spain
  20. Sweden
  21. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  22. The United States of America


Photo credit: Chris Pagan on Unsplash
Published: 5 April, 2022

Related News

Featured News

Our Industry Partners

  • argus

PR Newswire