• Follow Us On Our Preferred Social Media Platform:

FOBAS Bulletin: South Korean SECA to come into force on 1 September, 2020

19 May 2020

The Lloyd’s Register Fuel Oil Bunkering Analysis and Advisory Service (FOBAS) on Monday (18 May) published a bulletin alerting the maritime industry on the upcoming South Korean SECA while listing affected ports:

South Korean SECA

The South Korean Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries has announced that a Sulphur Emission Control

Area (SECA) will come into force on 1st September 2020, which will affect many South Korean ports.

The ports affected are as follows:

  • Busan
  • Incheon
  • Ulsan
  • Yeosu
  • Gwangyang Port (Including Hadong port)
  • Pyeongtaek-Dangjin Port

Much like the European ECA, vessels must use fuels with sulphur content of 0.10 % m/m or less.

From 1st September 2020 to 31st December 2021 vessels will be required to switch over to compliant fuels within 1 hour after completion of anchoring or mooring in designated ports to 1 hour before completion of heave up anchor or de-berthing.

From 1st January 2022 ships will be required to use compliant fuels from entry into the SECA until


Photo credit: Futureatlas

Published: 19 May, 2020

Related News

Featured News