• Follow Us On Our Preferred Social Media Platform:

South Korea 0.1% sulphur ECA at five ports effective September 2020

25 Oct 2019

South Korea will be implementing an emission control area (ECA) at five locations effective 1 September 2020, according to Korean shipping publication ShippingNewsNet.

The development will require vessels to switch to 0.10% sulphur fuel when berthing at the ports of Busan, Incheon, Yeosu-Gwangyang, Ulsan and Pyeongtaek-Dangjin from 1 September 2020 onwards.

Manifold Times in July 2018 reported a professor from Mokpo Maritime University suggesting to government officials the implementation of an ECA in South Korea as part of plans to improve air quality at local port cities.  

Related: Korea: Academic discusses introduction of ECA

Photo credit: Busan Port Authority
Published: 25 October, 2019


Related News

Featured News

Our Industry Partners

  • argus

PR Newswire