• Follow Us On Our Preferred Social Media Platform:

Brightoil closes audit, nomination, and remuneration committee, appoints new CEO

05 Jan 2021

Hong Kong-based Brightoil Petroleum (Holdings) Limited (Brightoil) on Monday (4 January) appointed a new CEO, and made several internal changes to its company and management.

Appointment of Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer:

Xie Wenyan has been appointed executive director and chief executive officer of the company with effect from Friday, 1 January 2021.

 Xie will be focusing on the company’s upstream business following the discontinuance of its international trading & bunkering and marine transportation businesses, and the signing of the Zhoushan agreements for the disposal of the Zhoushan project.

Aged 57, Xie is a professor-level senior engineer with 33 years of experience in production and management of oil and gas field enterprises. Prior to joining Brightoil, Xie has worked in PetroChina Company Limited from September 1999 to October 2016 and his last position was general manager.

Previously in May 2019, Xie was appointed as an executive director of Brightoil and resigned in October 2019.

Dissolution of Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee and Nomination Committee

Following Brightoil’s delisting from the Hong Kong Stock Exchange on 20 October 2020 and following the Board’s restructuring set out above, the company finds it is no longer desirable to maintain its Audit Committee, Nomination Committee, and Remuneration Committee.

The Board announced the Committees were dissolved with effect from close of business on 31 December 2020.

Re-designation from Independent Non-Executive Director to Executive Director

Following the closure of various committees, Chan Wai Leung has ceased to be the chairman of Brightoil’s Audit Committee, a member of the nomination committee and a member of the remuneration committee

Chan has been redesignated from independent non-executive director to executive director of the company with effect from 1 January 2021.

Resignation of Non-Executive Directors and Independent Non-Executive Directors

The above development has led to the resignation of Dai Zhujiang and Zhao Liguo as Brightoil’s non-executive directors with effect 31 December 2020.

Additionally, Dr. Lo Wing Yan William, JP and Wang Tian have resigned as the company’s independent non-executive directors from close 31 December 2020.

Following the resignations of Dr. Lo and Wang as independent non-executive directors:

(a) Dr. Lo has ceased to be the chairman of the Remuneration Committee, a member of the

Audit Committee and a member of the Nomination Committee of the Company;

(b) Wang has ceased to be the chairman of the Nomination Committee, a member of the

Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee of the Company.

Related: Brightoil debt restructuring progresses, proceeds from vessel sales hindered by COVID-19
Related: Brightoil Petroleum publishes notice regarding winding-up application filed by creditor
Related: Brightoil to focus on upstream business in future development following HKSE delisting

Earlier developments of Brightoil (since late 2017 to date) can be found in the search results here

Photo credit: Brightoil

Published: 5 January, 2021

Related News

Featured News

Our Industry Partners

  • argus

PR Newswire